Posted by: jinniver | April 28, 2009

Carrots and Broccoli

Some artists paint a series of pictures.  I’m working on a series of knit food.  It’s…almost art.  Kinda.  Right?

Ok, so no.  But it’s fun!

I decided to tackle broccoli after the carrots.  I’d seen versions where the crown of the broccoli were knit balls.  But the crown of broccoli isn’t smooth, it’s bushy.  How else to get that look but pom-poms?  (Plus, pom-poms allowed me to add another yarn color for some variety.)

Before I got there, however, I had to figure out how to knit the stem and the branches to which I’d attach the pom-poms.  The stem wasn’t hard–just a knit tube.  The bottom was a challenge.  I wanted it to be as flat as possible to avoid any possible…unfortunate comparisons once I started attaching the pom-poms.

At the halfway point, it didn’t look promising.

broccoli (6)

However, I persevered–and I think the final product makes for some acceptable broccoli:

broccoli (7)

I thought the hardest part would be figuring out all of the stems, but they actually came together quite nicely.  Designing them was easier than knitting them, but only because I ended up with very small circles in a tight space.  I did shift to I-cord at the end, which worked beautifully.

broccoli (5)

Just attach pom poms, and you’re ready to go!  Of course, I’ve never made a pom-pom before, so I needed a good tutorial.  I found just what I needed here, on TECHknitting(TM). I’ve seen TECHknitter‘s highly educational posts on Ravelry, so as soon as I saw that blog come up in the search results, I knew it was the way to go.  That said, I didn’t actually use her helpful tutorial (this time–I’ll definitely keep it in mind for the future); I used one of the tips from the comments sections.  I needed relatively small pom-poms, and they were going to be difficult to obtain using cardboard forms (the cardboard circles were going to need to be rather small), so I just wrapped the yarn around my fingers or the tip of an interchangeable needle (DPNs would have worked too, but I didn’t have any of those handy in the size I needed).

Just a note:  the pom-poms make this pattern inappropriate for very young children, because the strands of yarn in the pom-pom are loose and can be pulled out.  It would be perfect for an older child who won’t eat the yarn…and if the pom-poms do accidentally get a little thin, you can always cut the old one off and make and attach a new one!

If you feel the need for a little yarny broccoli in your life you can download the pattern here or ravel it!

And here’s a special bonus: more carrots!

all carrots

I’ve now worked out the pattern for 3 different sizes and put them into a .pdf file. Get your carrots here or ravel it!


Responses

  1. I gotta say, that’s a pretty dang good replica of a broccoli floret!

    You are just amazing with your fearless knitting, woman.

  2. for a flatter bottom maybe knit a circle, do a row of purl and then knit the tube? It’s an interesting problem. What next? turnips? kale? salad dressing?

  3. its adorriable!!!

    • Thank you!

  4. Je voulais télécharger la carotte tricotée mais on me signal que le fichier est trop lourd et par Ravel j’ai ouvert un compte mais ne peux l’utiliser car je ne comprends pas l’anglais. J’en suis bien triste car les modèles que je sais imprimer aucun problème mais les autres je ne puis y accéder.

    Je vais souvent sur votre site grâce à la traduction Google je le trouve merveilleux et riche en modèles.

    Monique

    • Je suis désolé que vous avez un problème de télécharger le modèle de la carotte. Je ne sais pas pourquoi il vous dit qu’il est trop grand. Je crois qu’il ya certains groupes de langue française sur Ravelry, si vous recherchez pour eux sur l’onglet Groupes, vous devriez être en mesure de trouver des gens qui peuvent vous aider à utiliser Ravelry. Aussi, si vous postez dans le groupe d’aide, je crois que l’un de nos assistants parle français (je n’ai pas, malheureusement, donc je m’excuse si cette traduction est terrible) et peut vous aider à Ravelry. Le modèle est disponible là-bas aussi, bien qu’il soit rédigé en anglais. Il ya un groupe nommé “Excuse Me?” qui aide les gens avec des traductions motif. J’espère que ça aide!

  5. Je vous remercie j’ai reçu la carotte sur Ravelry . Je suis très contente .
    Sur Ravelry j’ai difficile car je ne comprends pas l’anglais je n’arrive pas toujours à aller sur le site je ne sais pas ouvrir avec mon passeport.

    Merci beaucoup il y a de belles choses chez vous .

    Vite aux traductions partout !!!

    Cordialement.

    • Je suis tellement heureux que vous ayez été en mesure d’obtenir le modèle de carotte; profitez-en! Si vous avez des problèmes avec le téléchargement de tout autres motifs sur mon site, s’il vous plaît faites le moi savoir et je serai heureux de vous envoyer une copie.


Categories