Posted by: jinniver | July 10, 2010

I’m so excited!

I’m going to be a designer!

Ok, yes, I’m already a designer…sort of…as a hobby.  But while I’ve enjoyed creating the designs you see over there to the right, and I’m happy to share them, they’ve all been rather limited.  I’ve designed each with just one person in mind, and they all come in just one size (except for the carrots…maybe that’s why they’re my most popular!).  And they could be better–which is a project I have planned–now that I have a better grasp of knitwear construction, thanks both to research and experience knitting patterns from what I’ve seen as real, professional designers.

Well, now I’m going to be a “real, professional designer.”

Two months ago, Sharon of Three Irish Girls put out a call for designers.  She was looking specifically for patterns that would show off hand-dyed yarn.  As fate would have it, since a good chunk of my stash is hand-dyed yarn from Three Irish Girls, most in it’s variegated glory, a lot of my pattern thoughts have been about showing off hand-dyed yarn.

Immediately, two vague idea coalesced into great pattern possibilities…but I didn’t do anything about it right away.  After all, Sharon had to be looking for those real, professional designers, not untrained dabblers like yours truly.  But…I really like these ideas.  I thought they had great potential.  And I was pretty sure I could do it.

And the designs were persistent…and apparently on Australian time, because they kept me up at night with their whispers: Come on…you know we’d be beautiful.  You know you want to knit us, and design us.  Just think…your design with your name on the Three Irish Girls site!  What’s the worst that could happen if you try?  All she can do is say no…but she might say yes…

So, one morning I confronted my bleary-eyed self in the mirror, asked what really was the worst that could happen, and sat down to write my very first knitwear design pattern proposals.  Not, perhaps, the most positive frame of mind I could have had to start this adventure, but at least I was working on it.  And sleeping at nights.

The writing and the result were definitely an adventure…but not one for this blog.  I have decided, for a variety of reasons, that it would be best to separate business and pleasure (oh, who am kidding?  It’s all pleasure.  Ok, business and non-business) .  So, introducing The Magpie Knitter!

magpie knitter screen shot

Why The Magpie Knitter?  See here!

So, what does that mean for The Sarah Winchester of Fiber Arts?  Very little, actually.  TSWOFA has always been about more than just my designs, or even just my knitting, and that will all stay here.  I’ll still want a place where I can talk about my own knitting adventures, and my sewing, and my quilting, and my random weirdness.  But that doesn’t mean that The Magpie Knitter is going to have only posts about my designs or dull business stuff.  For one, the weirdness is innate, not just something I do here!  But I’m also expecting it to be as much fun as here, and hopefully educational, informative, and a site you can get something out of.  So please, join me there…but don’t leave me here!


Responses

  1. So COOL!!!! Will check out your design site. BTW, we’vev been taking your name in vain all afternoon! My friend Susan is visiting and we had a sock knitting tea with Heidi and Suzzanne this afternoon. We had fun and talked about who had hear what about what you’re up to — wish I had checked your blog before they left. How exciting — now we can say “I knew her when…” You go girl!!

  2. Good Luck! You are going to be an amazing designer! And I’ll be able to say jen johnson? yeah I knew her when….

  3. […] surprised at the fact that my thoughts on design jumped to the forefront right about midnight–they did the same thing to me back when I was agonizing over whether or not to submit my 2 design ideas to Three Irish […]

  4. […] surprised at the fact that my thoughts on design jumped to the forefront right about midnight–they did the same thing to me back when I was agonizing over whether or not to submit my 2 design ideas to Three Irish […]


Categories

