Posted by: jinniver | February 22, 2010

I’m no Shaun White, but…

…we do have something in common. We each have a gold medal in the half-pipe.

Hat Half-Pipe 2010 (1)

Of course, mine was a little tamer, and it didn’t involve a Double McTwist 1260…or even a snowboard. Just yarn and knitting needles.

Not Just for Olympics Cloche (11)

But to each their own. Knitting was a better choice for me, since I’m not the most…graceful person. I’d risk a broken bone just looking at a snowboard.

Unfortunately, the judges weren’t quite as impressed with me as Shaun’s were with him. Asked if he liked my hat, my son got a very distraught look on his face before finally saying hesitantly, “Well…I like the color…but…I don’t like the shape, Mommy.” At least he tried for something positive first; his father’s verdict was a blunt, “I think cloches look ridiculous.”

Not Just for Olympics Cloche (13)

Oh, well. I have it on good authority (in other words, from my friends on Ravelry) that while Steve has demonstrated good judgment in the past (example: he married me), he’s way off on this one. And, to be honest, it didn’t matter. I love the cloche style, always have, and have always wanted one of my own. It was a bonus to have such beautiful yarn to work with.

Not Just for Olympics Cloche (9)

Project: Not Just for the Olympics Cloche
Pattern: The Not-Just-For-Chemo Reversible Cloche
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in Emerald Blue, 121 yds
Needles: US9 32″ KnitPicks Options circs (via magic loop)
Gold medal earned for Team Fast Girls Knit Left


Responses

  1. That is an absolutely awesome hat.

    I’ll have to respectfully disagree with your husband as well; I think that style of hat (or any hat, really) goes with your hairstyle. I don’t think you can do a hat wrong with a short a-line. Which totally makes me miss mine and make me wonder why I decided to grow it out.

    Anyways. Yes, that hat is wonderful, and congrats on your Rav Olympics win.

  2. I love the hat, but I HAVE to ask. Was Steve able to pull the word “cloche” out of thin air?

    • šŸ™‚ Actually, I’d told him when I started knitting it that it was a cloche.

  3. Men, men, men, men. Don’t ask them for opinions. You could always release the hounds on them!

  4. Seriously!! Steve has shown such promise , now he fell a few notches! And Jeffrey was showing such promise! (We’ll blame Steve’s influence here)

    Your hat is just adorable!

    Ria

    • Well, in Jeffrey’s defense, he DID try for something positive first!


Categories

