Posted by: jinniver | January 24, 2010

Sweet Pea for My Sweet Pea

Two days.

That’s how long it took me to add the finishing touches to Lexie’s Sweet Pea cardigan. I had the rest of the 192 front/neckband stitches to cast on, 4 rows to knit, side and underarm seams to sew, a button loop to add, and a button to choose and sew on. It would have taken me less time, in fact, except we had guests coming in for the weekend and I needed the time to get the house ready.

Had I just stuck with it, instead of tucking it away all those months ago, it would have been long done. But as I mentioned, some of the projects that seduced me away were necessary, and it’ll probably be another month or two before the weather will be right for Lexie to wear this cardigan, anyway…but it’s still a good lesson in sticking with something, especially when I’m so close to completion.

The important thing is that the cardigan is done, and Lexie loves it. She calls it her “princess sweater”…and what little girl doesn’t want to look and feel like a princess? So she was more than willing to pose for pictures just as long as Mommy wanted to take them.

Sweet Pea (14)

Sweet Pea (13)

Sweet Pea (11)

Sweet Pea (7)

Sweet Pea (15)

Lexie even had a sedate little princess wave working:

Sweet Pea (10)

Obviously, the sweater still needs a good blocking, which will fix the curling on the hem and front band, but I’m waiting on that until it’s closer to time for her to wear it. And now I can get started on the matching dress


Responses

  1. That is adorable – and she does look like a little princess!

  2. It just makes Lexie look like more of a princess! Great job.šŸ™‚

  3. Perfectly Pretty and she looks like she likes it.

  4. […] Sweet Pea for My Sweet Pea […]


Categories

