Posted by: jinniver | January 10, 2010

Making knitting fun

I have a serious case of cast-on-itis right now.

I’m not letting myself cast anything on until I’m done with Lexie’s Misty Seacoast; I had to refrog about 7 rows of the bodice when it became clear that the stitch count I’d settled on was going to give me a bodice too big, but I’m now finally cruising along and should be done in the next few days.

And that’s good, because I want to knit a scarf shaped like someone sticking out his tongue.

Yes, you heard me right.  A friend of mine, together with her 3 year old son, designed a keyhole scarf where the part sticking out the hole looks like a tongue.  At her son’s suggestion, she added button eyes.  Last night she was soliciting name ideas and I came up with Mom Said Your Face Would Freeze Like That.  It got tentative approval from my friend, but her puzzled sons pointed out, “Mom, you’ve never said that.”  So the pattern has officially (and hysterically) been named by her sons Don’t Be Mouthy.

I really can’t wait to cast on this one.  I know I’m going to love Lexie’s jumper when I’m done (a voice in the back of my head is screaming, “You’d better love it after all the work I put into that ratzin frazin booworms!”)…but the getting there has been a lot more, um, fraught than I anticipated.  So I’m ready for something fun, something where gauge doesn’t matter so much…something that makes me giggle when I knit it.  Most importantly, something that will let me collaborate with my children the way my friend did with hers.  I’m already anticipating pulling out the button jar to find the best eyes.


Responses

  1. The scarf is so much fun. I can’t wait to see what everyone does with it.

    Also, I can NOT read or type ratzin fratzin booworms without smiling. Love it!

  2. Can’t wait to see the scarf you and the kids come up with!🙂

  3. Is the pattern going to be on Rav? I must have a scarf like that! seriously I have to have one!

    • It’s on Ravelry–check out the “Don’t Be Mouthy” link in the post. 🙂

  4. Can’t wait to see that one!


Categories

