Posted by: jinniver | March 16, 2009

The 2009 MS “Swim”

We’ll be walking rain or shine, so come prepared!
-email from 2009 MS Walk Corpus Christi organizers

It rained. We walked.

The morning of the MS Walk, Steve and I debated whether we were going as a family or I was going solo.  We enjoy doing the Walk as a family, and I really hated the idea of the kids not being there–they’ve been with me for every previous Walk, and they’re my fundraisers.  But it was cold, and although it wasn’t raining where we were, the sky was threatening.  So I left the kids home with Steve (which turned out to be good, since Jeffrey started running a fever Saturday, and the last thing he needed was to get soaked and cold).

I knew we’d made the right decision when I drove through a downpour on my way to Corpus Christi.

I was a little late checking in, because check in took longer than usual–the check in table wasn’t under a tent, and the guy trying to check me in couldn’t find the right sheet of soggy paper to verify that I’d been one of the Top 100 fundraisers last year.  Fortunately, someone thought to check the special “Mission Movers” t-shirt, given to each of the top 100 fundraisers, because it’s got all of our names printed on the back.

Once done, I stepped off with the other stragglers.  It wasn’t long before the rain started again, and it didn’t let up the rest of the Walk.  Fortunately, I was wearing a hooded jacket, but I quickly realized I should have added a hat with a brim–my glasses were speckled with rain the entire time.

The Walk followed an up-and-back course along the water, with turn around points marked at 1/2 mile, 1 1/2 miles, and 2 1/2 miles.  In the past, we’d always done the 1 mile course, since we always had a little one or two with us.  But this year I decided I was doing the whole 5 miles.  Why not?

Right about 3 miles I realized why not–my feet were killing me!  Of course, at that point, I had no choice but to walk back the last 2 miles.  At least I’d set a pretty good pace for myself, so I was far from the last walker to step across the line:  sore, soaked, but satisfied…because by the end of the day, I reached my goal of raising $2250 (actually, $2256, to be exact)!

Of course, this means I need to start planning for next year’s MS Walk, because I’ve definitely raised the bar…thanks to many of you!

2009 MS Walk
For the record, my coat is not waterproof.


Responses

  1. GREAT JOB!!🙂

  2. You INSPIRE me.

    I am sitting in a university library, surrounded by many, many students, most of whom I assume are undergrads returning from Spring Break. Yet I sit here in tears.

    Thank you.

  3. GreAT JOB!!!

  4. Fantastic! We’re all so proud of you!

  5. You did so good. and i’m so proud to call you friend. HUGS!


Categories

