Posted by: jinniver | March 1, 2009

The best laid plans

2009 is 1/6th of the way done, so it’s time for me to check the status of my New Year’s plans. I’ve made progress on some plans since I last did a status check 2 weeks in…and none in some others.

1) Knit Jeffrey a sweater.

Photo of back of Christmas Spices Cardigan, knit in alternating stockinette stitch and garter stitch.  Stockinette stitch is knit in semi-solid burgundy wool (Galenas Merino in Cinnamon Spices colorway).  Garter stitch is knit in variegated red, burgundy, brown, light blue, and olive green wool (Galenas Merino in Gingerbread House colorway).  Cardigan is Lion Brand's Striped Cardi pattern in size 5T.Photo of right front of Christmas Spices Cardigan, laid over back of cardigan, knit in alternating stockinette stitch and garter stitch.  Stockinette stitch is knit in semi-solid burgundy wool (Galenas Merino in Cinnamon Spices colorway).  Garter stitch is knit in variegated red, burgundy, brown, light blue, and olive green wool (Galenas Merino in Gingerbread House colorway).  Cardigan is Lion Brand's Striped Cardi pattern in size 5T.

I’ve been making good progress on Jeffrey’s Christmas Spices Cardigan. The back is complete, as is the right front, and the left front is in progress. That leaves me the rest of the left front, both sleeves, and then the ribbing detail around the collar and front. Now the cardigan has been left untouched for awhile as other projects have interceded, but seeing as I have a deadline of September 1, I’ll get it done in plenty of time. Heck, the problem hasn’t been working on it; it’s been tearing myself away from it! The Galenas Merino from Three Irish Girls is an absolute dream to touch and knit with. I think it’s my new “stranded on a desert island” yarn; it’ll be too warm to wear, but that won’t matter!

2) Spend less time reading about knitting and more time actually knitting.

Um…yeah, not so much.  So far, epic fail.

3) Finish some long-term WIPs.

There were 4 items on this list:

  • Sunny Summer Sky (1/31/09)
  • Branching Out into Lace (2/28/09)
  • Zombielle Socks (7/24/09)
  • Northern Lights Shrug (9/30/09)

As you can see, there’s good news and bad news.  The bad news is that I missed the deadline on my lace scarf–it was yesterday, and I haven’t touched it since I made my plans.  But in addition to the decision to frog Sunny Summer Sky, I have completed my Northern Lights Shrug.

Photo of back view of long-sleeved shrug, knit in garter stitch with novelty thick-thin yarn (Feza Iplik Fiona, in black, yellow, green, blue, and purple).  Improvised pattern.

This project had been moved to the end of the list because we were leaving Texas soon (and I’d planned to wear it while knitting at Knotty Girl) and I didn’t expect to need it until next fall. But I soon realized my plans to work on the scarf first wasn’t going to jive with my current knitting set-up. Most of my knitting time is social, and lace and conversation doesn’t combine well. The shrug was entirely garter stitch with no shaping, so it was a better choice.  And since I’ve completed it, it’s seen a lot of wear and gotten a lot of compliments.

4) Pull out the charity knitting.

No progress on this front, and that’s something that needs to change.

5) Remember the other fiber arts.

Nothing new since I got on a roll and whipped out 3 Hawaiian shirts in short order.  But our anniversary is in less than 3 months, and I still owe Steve 2 shirts from last anniversary.  My brother and his wife celebrate their 4th anniversary this month, and the binding still isn’t on their quilt.  I really ought to add Lexie’s quilt to the high priority list; she’s almost a year-and-a-half old and is still borrowing her brother’s.  And I’ve gotten a rather sudden overwhelming urge to sew Lexie more clothing.  The genesis of the urge isn’t a mystery–one of the other little girls in Lexie’s music class has been showing up in absolutely adorable outfits made by her mom, and I know I could do the same for Lexie, especially with some cute material I already have.

Of course, it’s probably a bad idea to keep adding to my to-do list…but if I didn’t have this tendency, my blog would probably have a different name!


Responses

  1. Ooh – I like the shrug!!!


Categories

