Posted by: jinniver | February 27, 2009

Bob + wind = bad

I finally got my hair cut last Saturday.  I’ve been wanting to get it cut for a while.  I tend to be a bit of a hairstyle flake–I rarely have the same haircut for more than a few years at a time.  I hate taking the time to style my hair, and shorter cuts tend to require styling (especially since my hair is stick straight and fine).  But long hair drives me nuts after awhile, even though I like being able to just pull it back into a ponytail.  Plus, it’s just too hot down here for long hair–I hate it when the back of my neck sweats.

So, I’ve spent most of my life growing my hair out, then chopping it off, growing it out, and chopping it off.  Many times I gave up on the growing out during the in-between stage of trying to get it all to one length and there was no flattering way to style my hair.  Occasionally, I managed to gut it out, much to Steve’s delight, and ended up with long hair of one length or another…until it drove me nuts and I went back to my short hair.

Steve prefers me with long hair–the longer, the better–and I concur, up to a point.  The point of my chin, to be exact.  My preferred haircut is a bob…although according to the woman who cut my hair Saturday, the version of the bob I prefer is called a “sweep”–longer in front, shorter in back.  We’d made a family day of haircuts on Saturday, and my son watched in some amazement as more and more of my hair hit the floor.  It was quite a liberating feeling…

…right up until I stepped outside and remembered why bobs are a bad idea in coastal south Texas–the wind.

When my hair is short, it doesn’t matter if it blows around; it doesn’t bother me.  When it’s long, I can pull it back into a ponytail.  When it’s bobbed…I spend a lot of time with my hair in my face.  The other day I was trying to strap Jeffrey into his booster seat with the wind directly behind me, and my hair was being blown from the back into my face.  I looked like Cousin It…I think.  I couldn’t see anything.  Jeffrey thought it was hilarious.

On the plus side, I don’t have to worry about styling it.  The minute I step foot out the door, my hair is so windblown that any semblence of a style is, well, gone with the wind.

A week into this hairstyle, and I’ve started dreaming about going back to the barbershop and getting it all cut off again.  Well, the heck with that!  I’ll be durned if I give up my favorite haircut over a little wind!

What I need is a hat.

Not just any hat will work, of course.  Since I’m wearing it in part to save any styling I do, it can’t destroy said styling.  So, none of my Navy ballcaps, much as I love them, will work.  At the same time, it’s got to fit snugly enough that I don’t have to worry about it blowing away or sliding off.  Lastly, because we’ve got a couple months left in Texas–and I expect to spend several years down the road living in a warm coastal area–it has to be cool and lightweight.

My searches on Ravelry came up blank.  I wanted to knit the hat with fingering weight yarn–in fact, I specifically wanted to knit it my Handmaiden Sea Silk:

Photo of Handmaiden Sea Silk yarn in dark greens, blues, and purples

However, none of the fingering weight hat patterns I could find were lacy enough for me.  I wanted a very open lacy pattern that had some movement and interest.  So I’ve decided to try to wing it (who’s surprised, really?).

What I’m going to do is take the pattern I improvised for the Unpurled Cables Hat and see if I can’t knit it in fingering weight on large needles for that open lace I want.  Will it work?  Dunno.  But I have some ideas…


Responses

  1. You could always look at the lace patterns on socks–just go up a couple of needle sizes, find the pattern repeat, and calculate from there.

  2. Have you tried searching Knitty? There’s this beret-style hat there that sounds like your sort of thing–lacy and loose-ish.

    Here’s the link:
    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter08/PATTfernglade.php

  3. I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE THE HAT!! I HAVE CUT MY HAIR ONCE OR TWICE – BUT AS I NEVER ( OK MAYBE CHRISTMAS EVE CHURCH SERVICES, AND EASTER) bother with my hair – half the time I don’t even brush it with an implement – just my fingers , I keep it below shoulder length – whenit get’s really hot I go from pony tail to bun ( if I’m missing a needle chances are that is where it is.


Categories

