Posted by: jinniver | February 19, 2009

Cheap at any price

“Oh, that’s right,” Steve said as he watched me get dressed.  “You’ve got your knitting thing tonight.”

“Well,” I said slowly, not wanting to assume, “I was hoping to be able to go.”

Steve grinned.  “As long as you come back with chocolate, go ahead!”

Thursday night at Knotty Girls is Sit ‘n Knit from 6-8 pm.  I’ve been going every week I can–basically every night Steve’s not working late, in a meeting, or underway–since I learned of it.  One night, several months ago, I came home bearing a thank you gift:  a Brownie Batter Blizzard from Dairy Queen.  Steve’s a chocoholic–he challenges every dessert named “Death by Chocolate” to do its worst, and has been disappointed by his survival every time–and it was the best way I could think of to show my gratitude for him being willing to take on both kids single-handedly almost immediately after coming home.  A couple weeks later, he came home after a bad day on the ship and found me desperate to leave after a bad day with the kids.  As I left, he asked weakly, “Could you bring me a Blizzard?”  I’d meant to anyway, and now it’s my standard “payment” for the night off.

Not that I have to pay Steve to give me the night off–he’s not just willing but happy to do it.  He also takes the kids on Saturday so that I can go to Knotty Girl for several hours in the afternoon…because he knows how important it is to me.

I never thought I’d be a stay-at-home mom.  I figured if I tried, I’d go nuts at not having another adult to talk to most of the day.  And I’ll be honest–as much as I adore my kids and I love getting to spend so much time with them during these early years, it’s been a challenge somtimes.  Jeffrey goes to school now, so it’s just me and Lexie…and she’s not much for the conversation.

When I took up knitting again, I was pregnant with Lexie and felt this primal need to knit something for her.  It didn’t make a lot of sense–in south Texas, she wasn’t going to need much in the way of warm wooly clothes, even though she was due in November.  Once I started, I realized I had an outlet for a need I hadn’t even recognized before.

And yet…I was surprised to find that knitting filled yet another need…and it wasn’t until I found Knotty Girl and had that need met that I recognized its existence.  Knitting may appear to some to be a solitary endeavor, but that ignores the nature of the knitting community.  I found that community at Knotty Girl, and I was welcomed into it.  Suddenly, I had that adult interaction I was craving so badly.  I had not only fellow knitters who understood my new obsession with knitting, but new friends with whom I can sit and talk about everything and nothing.

This duty station has…not been easy for me–for us.  We never intended to be in Texas, so far from both families, for so long.  Steve’s had a lot of challenges in his job, both ones we expected and ones that manage to surprise us even after we thought we’d lost the ability to be surprised.  Those challenges, naturally, have put a stress on our family life.  To be honest, I’m not sure if I’d have made it through without the knitting.

And I owe it all to 2 needles, a ball of yarn…and a very generous husband.  Thanks, Steve.


Responses

  1. My needlework has brought me my best friends in the world, both in real life and online. For those of us of a certain temperment, these activities fill a definite need, and we have to be around others who understand it. I also am blessed to have a loving and understanding husband.🙂

  2. I wish my hubby was so easily bribed! Lol. Unfortunately, he HATES chocolate. Hmm. Maybe I could bribe him with a new video game?

  3. My knitting group meets at a coffe/dessert/ cafe – Mara’s. So even though Angie is 17, and I go in the afternoon, I always bring curt either an oatmeal cookie or lemon bar.

    Steve really sounds like a keeper – glad you have him.


Categories

