Posted by: jinniver | January 23, 2009

You know you knit too much when…

Lexie has yet to say her first word–like her brother, she’s definitely taking this whole talking thing at her own pace.  But her babbles are becoming a lot more varied and purposeful so I assume it’s only a matter of time.

Naturally, I’m angling to get “mama” to be her first word.  Unfortunately, I undermined my own plans by accidentally creating a game of having Lexie repeat “dada” whenever she hears “mama.”  (Yes, Steve loves it.)  I do think she does call for me at times–whenever she’s upset and really wants me, we’ll hear, “Mummum, mummum, mummummummum…!” until I come.

So today, as I sat in my chair, Lexie left her toys and came over to stand next to me, pulling herself up on the side table.  I was keeping my eye on her, as said table is piled high with various knitting and cross-stitch accoutrement.  Suddenly, I heard her say, “Mummum!”

I gave her my full attention at that, quite delighted–she was saying it without prompting and without being in distress.  “Did you say ‘mummum,’ sweetie?” I asked.

Lexie gave me that adorable toothless grin, pointed firmly at the yarn in the yarn bowl next to me, and repeated decisively, “Mummum!”

Sigh…


Responses

  1. Has she been watching Britcoms without your knowledge and taken to calling you “Mum” rather than “Mama”?

    Ok… it’s a thought.🙂 She’ll get there.

    What do I know. I have a dog.

  2. Oh, it’s not the “mum” part. I’d be okay with mum, mom, mama, or any variation thereof.

    It’s that that’s what she’s calling the *yarn*… 🙂

  3. rOFL

  4. Well, you could consider it that she’s associating any of your hobbies/crafts with you and thus you and the activities you prefer are all called the same thing, “Mummum”! Either way, I’d call it a win!

  5. We’ve been going through the same thing with our 1 year old daughter. I kept trying to get her to say mama first, but she chose “uhoh” and says it everytime something drops.
    She doesn’t call my yarn anything yet, but loves to use it as a chew toy…

  6. Sounds like you’ve got a budding knitter on your hands!


Categories

