Posted by: jinniver | January 19, 2009

KIPing and new glasses

When my glasses hit the tile floor of the bathroom a few days ago, and both lenses popped out, I knew someone was trying to tell me it was time to see the eye doctor.  Last time, I’d seen the eye doctor next to the Lenscrafter at the mall, so I made another appointment there.

“So, when was your last appointment?” asked the tech as she started with the usual notes on her computer.

“I guess about two years ago, since you have our old address on file,” I mumbled.  It wasn’t as bad as admitting the dentist that I don’t floss every day, but close.

“Oh, it was here?”  Tap, tap, tap.  “And it was in…2005.”

Ok, past time.

The good news is that my eyes are about the only thing not deteriorating with age–despite being 4 years old, my old prescription is the same as my new prescription.  The bad news is that I’m still bat blind without glasses…which makes choosing new frames an adventure since the style I own is 4 years out of style.

So…how did I do?

new glasses

I ended up with an hour wait for my glasses…at a mall where I didn’t have any shopping to do but which was a 25 minute drive from my house.  I called Steve to discuss the pros and cons of staying versus coming back later, and he asked, “You have your knitting with you, right?”

He had to ask?

“What time does Knotty Girls open?” Steve continued.

“10 a.m.,” I answered.  “On Tuesday.”

“Oh.”  Pause.  “Well, remember that I suggested you go to a yarn store!”

Yes, dear.  Your good knitting husband points have already been collated.

So, I couldn’t go knit in the congenial yarn-filled atmosphere of my LYS…but I’ve never been shy about KIPing (knitting in public).  I’d already pulled out my work at the eye doctor, catching the eye of one of the techs.

“Is it hard to pick up?” she asked.  I thought I caught a note of longing.

“Not at all,” I said.  “I’ve been knitting for…”

“You’re going to say years,” she sighed ruefully as I paused to do some quick math.

“…a year and a half,” I finished.

“Really?”  She eyed my project, being knit in the round on 2 circular needles, which always seems to impress non-knitters.  Newly animated, she told me about her friend who knits when they go to the movies.  Hopefully, she’ll feel confident enough to ask for a lesson next time the friend pulls out her yarn and needles.

While waiting for the new glasses, I took a seat out in the mall and actually made some progress on the matching mitten for this one, finished yesterday:

Mom's friend's mittens

Ribbing done, the rest to go.


Responses

  1. they’re cute! i need new glasses too:/

  2. I just picked my new ones up. I had to wait- they couldn’t do the kind with no metal on the bottom with polycarb lenses in the store. sigh.

  3. Your frames look cute!

    I’d love some cute new glasses. Some of those teeny tiny ones that seem to be so fashionable. Problem is, now that I need ye olde bifocals, those just aren’t practical in terms of field of vision. *sigh*

  4. The frames were quite difficult to find. The large majority of the womans or unisex frames were thicker, colorful plastic. And rectangular. Unfortunately, I don’t look like Tina Fey, so I can’t carry off Tina Fey glasses! I eventually tracked these down in the clearance section. The bonus is they come with a sunglasses attachment that’s magnetic–so no more scratched frames from clip ons!

  5. You did great! Now that you remind me, it is time I schedule an eye appointment.
    Also, way to go with spreading the hobby around! I love when knitters inspire newbies to give it a try.


Categories

