Posted by: jinniver | December 2, 2008

Knitting DL

Yesterday I said I was taking a break from knitting, both because I was knitted out and because I wanted to rest my sore finger.  I actually managed to hold out until 11:20 pm last night before I cast on.  It occurred to me that the little bit of yellow and blue yarn I had left would make a great hat for Jeffrey for Saturday’s Army/Navy game (it’s not quite Navy’s blue and gold, but it’s close enough).

Turns out it’s probably a good thing I started early–I’m probably not going to be able to knock this one out as quickly as I did all the ones for Caps for Connor (despite all the knitting I was able to get done while waiting to see my primary care manager).  The Commander gave me the diagnosis I expected–it’s an infected hang nail, which means no quick fix.  So I’m on the DL (disabled list for those who don’t speak baseball…not that I watch baseball anymore, but I like DL better than the NFL’s PUP, or Physically Unable to Perform.  That one sounds kinda insulting).

Well, I’m sorta on the DL.  I’m still knitting, just not as much.  I have to take a break to soak the finger 4 times a day for 15 minutes, and I get to take antibiotics 4 times a day for the next 10 days–yippee.  And the finger still hurts…quite a bit.  But I’ve found I don’t really use the middle finger of my right hand as much for knitting, so that doesn’t really bother it.  Typing, on the other hand…I had no idea how often I type 8, i, k, and ,…which is sad since I write a knitting blog, huh?

Maybe I should talk more about quilting…only 2 offending letters there.  Or maybe it’s time to talk sewing…

Or maybe I should put myself on the blogging DL, and then shut up and knit.


Responses

  1. oooooh. That sounds really painful. Just take a break and get well soon!🙂

  2. I love your blogs Jen! Who knew that someone who isn’t crafty and doesn’t know anything about knitting would enjoy reading about it so much. Seriously, you should write a book. It’s fun to read things you’ve wrote!


Categories

