Posted by: jinniver | November 8, 2008

Challenge FAIL (but with winners!)

Well, that didn’t take too long–I missed writing a post last night.  In my defense, it had been a long week:  Steve’s ship is undergoing an assessment right now so he’s been getting home late every night, meaning no break from the kids for me.  On Friday, we both thought he’d be home at a reasonable hour (not early, but hopefully by 5 pm at the latest).  He actually walked in the door after 7 pm.  By the time he got home, I managed to stay up just long enough to help get both kids to bed and then retired to my bed with a good book and chocolate.

(The chocolate came from earlier in the day, when nothing I did could get Lexie to stop fussing and crying.  I plopped her in the stroller with the intent to plug in to my iPod and listen to some of the many knitting podcasts I have saved there as we went for a walk…only to discover that my iPod was dead.  At that point we walked straight to the closed store for chocolate.)

Today was a much better day.  I finally got to my LYS to knit with others (adult conversation!) for the first time since last Saturday (Steve’s workload meant I missed both the monthly knitting group meeting on Monday and Thursday night’s Sit ‘n Knit).  I got in a little later than usual (since Steve had to go in to the ship for a half day of work), which meant I missed one of my knitting friends for the second week in a row.  Deb, if you’re reading this, I’ll do my best to hook up with you next Saturday, although Steve will probably have to work for part of that day too!  But other knitting friends were there, and I finally got the chance to relax and chat as I knitted.  I needed that.

This was also a big day at home–my baby girl is 1 year old!  Happy birthday, Lexie!  And since it’s Lexie’s birthday today, this is also the day to choose and announce the winners of my 100th post giveaway! I had Random.org select 2 numbers between 1 and , to represent the number of comments on the post. The first number corresponded to the gift certificate from Artsygal, and the second to the one from Castle Fibers (just because A comes before C). And the winners are (drum roll, please!):

28:  Loretta (Auntyaya) – $50 gift certificate to Artsygal

17:  MindyO – $50 gift certifcate to Caste Fibers

Thanks to everyone who took the time to stop by and comment, and don’t forget that Artsygal is offering 10% of any item in the store (except the sock club) if you use the code TenOffFromJen during the month of November!


Responses

  1. A big congratulations to Loretta & Mindy🙂

    *checks blog*

    Yep, still comfy.

    Go Navy!

  2. whoops clicked submit before I was done –

    Happy Berfday Lexie!😀😀😀

  3. Happy birthday baby girl! And dangit, I still need to go blog!

  4. Happy Birthday to Lexie!!! I don’t know how you ever manage to post or knit with 2 little ones around!

  5. Thank you!
    Happy 1st Birthday to Lexie🙂

  6. Happy Birthday Lexie!! Make sure you get cake *everywhere*…


Categories

