Posted by: jinniver | September 6, 2008

QEPLE

QEPLE = Queue Exceeding Probable Life Expectancy

I learned this one on Ravelry.  There are many variations (include several regarding stashes), but it basically boils down to this:  thanks largely to Ravelry, many of us have ginormous lists of projects we plan to knit…someday.  I can’t find the post now, but someone once actually calculated the likelihood that another knitter had a QEPLE.  The poster calculated speed of knitting by dividing number of projects in the notebook by the time the knitter had been on Ravelry, and multiplied that by the number of projects in the queue to determine that the knitter did indeed have a QEPLE.  When the protest was made that the knitter would likely improve in her craft and therefore knit faster, the math whiz adjusted the speed number to compensate, but then threw in some more calculations to determine how fast the knitter was adding items to her queue (on the logical assumption that more would be added) and used that to determine how large the queue was likely to be by the end of the knitter’s projected life expectancy.

Needless to say, the knitter would never, ever catch up.  In fact, her queue had already been increasing at such a rate that it would be impossible for her to catch up, even if she were Miriam Tegels (warning: link opens to a YouTube video).

I’ll be the first to admit that I have a QEPLE…not literally, because I use my Ravelry queue to list only things that I intend making in the near future (even with that reasoning, my queue includes 36 items…so clearly my definition of “near” is suspect).  But my favorites…it’s 11 pages long, with 25 patterns per page.  It’s also in desperate, desperate need of organization.  Unfortunately, although I spent time with my favorites today, it wasn’t to organize them.  It was to add to them.

It started the way it always does:  I saw a thread where someone was asking for pattern recommendations, this time for a 5-year-old girl’s sweater.  And, as always, I clicked over to check out what people were recommending.  In addition to several specific options (a few of which I saved and added to my favorites), someone suggested the pattern browser with certain filters.  I’ve used the advanced search extensively, but never tried the pattern browser, so I headed thataway.  And that is where I got into trouble.

It was bad enough that I started adding several patterns, but then at the bottom I saw two adorable patterns side-by-side, from the same source: a dress and a top. I liked the look of both, so I clicked to the pattern for the first, and from there to the source.

The source is listed as More Knits, but the blog is actually entitled Knitting Stories. The author has designed 9 patterns for her adorable little girl and decided to share them with the world for free.  I might have only picked up the two I was looking at originally, but the link on the pattern page takes you to a page with all the patterns for that month.

In the end, all 9 patterns ended up in my queue.  How could they not?  They have classic lines and are beautifully done–and I can just picture Lexie (and probably her cousin Stella) in all of them.  How much do I love them?  I’ve added those patterns to my list of “pros” for making DC our next duty station:  they have winters cold enough that Lexie could wear many of these patterns for several months, not just the 2 weeks of “winter” we have here in south Texas.  If you have or know of a little girl who’d like some beatiful sweaters, dresses and tops, you need to check out Knitting Stories.

Just don’t blame me.


Responses

  1. Yeah, I’m the slowest knitter known to man. And I keep putting stuff in my favorites… just in case… I mean, you don’t want to forget about them, right?? Perfectly logical, if you ask me.


Categories

