Posted by: jinniver | September 4, 2008

Jeffrey’s Slipstitch Wristers

I struggled with the design. I battled the dreaded second sock syndrome.

I have emerged triumphant.

Jeffrey's wristers 008

Once I actually got started on Jeffrey’s second glove, it went together very quickly.  The only part I had to really think about was the thumb.  Since there’s a pattern across the back of the hand, there has to be a left glove and a right glove, which I established through thumb placement.  My thought on how to work that turned out just as I planned.  Even Jeffrey was surprised by how well it all came together.

Jeffrey's wristers 010

Fortunately, he seems to really like them!

Jeffrey's wristers 009

I’ve added advice in the pattern on how to resize the gloves up or down, or to snug up the upper ribbing (left loose on Jeffrey’s wristers because he hated the feel of snug ribbing by his fingers).

I wasn’t sure how the slip stitch pattern was going to work when paired with such colorful variegated yarn, but I knew that even if the raised lines of slipped stitches weren’t visible, they would be obvious to the touch.  Surprisingly, the slipped stitches show up even better than I expected, and had the added benefit of breaking up the occasional spots of pooling that appeared on the palms.  On a solid or semi-solid yarn, the slipped stitches will add simple visual interest to the backs of the gloves.

Jeffrey's wristers 006 Jeffrey's wristers 005

And there they are–the perfect gloves for the cooler winter days in south Texas! If you’d like to give them a try for your best boy, the pattern is here:  Jeffrey’s Slipstitch Wristers. And come to think of it, I’ve got more than enough yarn left to make a matching hat…

Queue the Slipstitch Wristers on Ravelry!


Responses

  1. Woot! Congratulations on the finish! Looks great.🙂

  2. I have to make my son some of these!

  3. Do you have a pic with it just starting on the needles? Probably not, but I can’t find anyone to confirm I’m doing right. Never done 2 circulars before.

    • I don’t have a good one, unfortunately. However, the video at KnittingHelp.com is pretty good (http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/advanced-techniques); just page down to Small Diameter Knitting on 2 Circular Needles, and it’ll show the technique as well as give you an idea of what it should look like. If that doesn’t help, let me know and I’ll put some stitches on needles to take a picture.🙂

      Jen

      • Should do the trick-Thanks a bunch!!


Categories

