Posted by: jinniver | September 2, 2008

Online Magazine Review: MetaPostModern Knitting

You know what happens when you assume…

I hadn’t intended writing another review so soon…and certainly not on another online magazine.  And why I even clicked on the link for MetaPostModern Knitting magazine is a question I can’t really answer. Modern is generally not my thing, postmodern even less so.  When I hit the home page I was even less sure why I was there:

MetaPostModernKnitting.com is a celebration of fashion-forward and avant-garde knitting. We want to bring you knitting patterns, trend analysis, and news that represents the more artistic, unconventional and forward-thinking realm of knitting.

Fashion-forward is most definitely not my thing.  But heck, I was already there, so I decided to click on the MetaPatterns link anyway.

Right away, I was intrigued by the presentation.  The pattern page listed all the patterns, but instead of showing pictures, they had drawings such as you might see in a fashion portfolio.  The black-and-white sketches are eye-catching in their simplicity and flowing lines.  It never occurred to me how such a presentation would emphasize the lines of the design.  Still, I wasn’t sure that any of the patterns would be for me–gloves, scarves, a vest–and then I saw St. James.

I didn’t like the tie at the neckline, but because I was seeing it first as a sketch, I was able to focus on the overall lines of the garment.  I’ve been looking for nice, shapely short-sleeved sweater patterns that would be more appropriate for south Texas, and this I liked.  Of course, I’ve read these fashion-forward magazines, and I know how “friendly” they are to plus sizes.  Chances are all that would fit me would be those gloves and scarves, especially since shaped patterns can be so hard to find in plus sizes.

St. James is available in sizes from XS to a 3X (30″-54″ bust).  Poof! went my last assumption.  Apparently, there’s an important difference between runway high fashion and fashion-forward…at least on the pages of MetaPostModern Knitting.

All three tops in this issue (Fall/Winter 2008/2009, the second issue) are sized up to 3X, as are the four tops from the Spring 2008 premier issue (those patterns are available in the archives).  This is decidedly a rarity, and I’m happy to see it.  I also liked a lot else that I saw in the patterns.  Right at the beginning of each, the difficulty is listed, as well as the techniques that will be needed for the construction of the garment.  For anyone interested in the fashion as much as the pattern, a detailed background into the inspiration is provided (complete with links to pictures and examples).

Each issue includes a trend report for the season, as well as additional articles: both the Spring and Fall/Winter issues had an article focusing on a fashion collection on that season and an opinion piece by “The Knitting Bully.”  I don’t know who she is, but the magazine promises “Her rant-filled manifestos will grace MetaPostModern Knitting on a regularly sporadic basis.”  I hope “sporadic” translates to “every issue” because I loved both articles I read.  The piece in the Spring issue skewered a lot of what I hate about “fashion” and the Fall/Winter issue piece on making a pattern your own instead of complaining, “I would have liked to see…” was equally well-written and compelling.

In the end, not all of the magazine’s contents were to my taste…but that’s true of every magazine I’ve ever picked up.  I did only select one pattern from the Fall/Winter issue and two from the Spring issue, but I was strongly attracted to all three.  The presentation is unique and the content informative.  Down the road, the magazine may find itself in need of more organization–as of this writing there’s no way to search patterns, so you’d have to page through the archives to find what you want–but if the focus is on making patterns that are ahead of current trends, the archives might not be the focus for a lot of readers.

MetaPostModern Knitting accepts submissions ($25-50 per pattern, depending on complexity).  The guidelines are a little looser than other places, but that’s to be expected since their focus is on the unconventional…which is a little hard to define.  Based on the info I read in the submissions guidelines, this is a seasonal magazine which will have a Spring/Summer and a Fall/Winter issue.  The website includes additional links to recommended sites, including other places to find patterns (such as Knitty.com), to buy yarn (like KnitPicks), and other knitting sites (such as Ravelry).  Speaking of Ravelry, MetaPostModern Knitting is “Ravelry-friendly,” with all of the patterns already entered on pattern pages complete with pictures (the lack of which tends to be a weakness for pattern pages from print magazines–most do not allow the use of their pictures, which means waiting until someone on Ravelry makes the project, posts the picture, and allows the use of it on the pattern page).

The facts:

  • Fall/Winter 2008/2009 issue (second issue); will be released twice a year
  • 10 patterns (3 tops, 1 vest, 3 scarves, 1 pair of gloves, 1 hat and 1 purse) in a variety of levels of difficulty
  • All patterns available in plus sizes and presented in sketch format
  • 3 articles
  • Links to other useful sites
  • Price:  Free!
  • Recommended:  Most especially for those interested in unconventional fashion, but has something for everyone.

Responses

  1. Thanks to you


Categories

