Posted by: jinniver | August 8, 2008

Conversation pieces

“Ooooh, look at that hair!” cooed the flight attendant as we boarded the plane.

“Can I touch her hair?” begged the mom of two middle-schoolers as our paths crossed in Wal-Mart.

“That hair is so cute!” enthused the postal worker as I picked up the mail they forgot to deliver.

“Let me touch her hair!” demanded Jeffrey’s classmate, before ordering the other two little girls, “Touch her hair!”

“Oh, I love the porcupine hair!” laughed the mother of a baby only beginning to sport peach fuzz.

Lexie’s hair is, to say the least, a conversation piece.

Lexie hair Lexie hair 2

About a month ago, it looked like Lexie’s hair was finally getting long enough to lay flat.  However, that ended up only being true of the hair in front–everything in back still sticks straight out from her head.  Everywhere we go, it seems, people stop us to exclaim over her hair and share stories of babies they’ve known with hair that stood up, or wild curls…or even no hair at all.  I’m no longer as eager for her hair to lie flat because everyone loves to talk about it.

For the same reason, I love buttons.  I always have.  When I was in high school, I collected buttons–mostly with various smart ass phrases that appeal to a teenager.  I wore them pinned to my favorite jean jacket, so many that you could barely make out the rainbow tie-dye job I’d done on a whim.  They were fun, they were silly–and they told someone who I was without having to talk about it.  Ironically, that tended to lead to even more conversation.

Still, I thought my button phase was over.  It’s been a while since I’ve been inside a high school, I don’t own a jean jacket to put ’em on anymore, anyway (that may change when we get some place where the wearing of jackets happens on a regular basis).  And then someone happened to mention a button she had…and I wanted it.  I don’t actually remember now exactly what the button said (it was something about lower taxes and yarn), but the owner mentioned she’d found it on Cafepress.

So I went looking.  I never did find the one I was looking for originally…but I found a few.

med button yarn small buttons other

These I loved.  The yarn button on the left perfectly represented the type of yarn I’m always drawn to but which I really need to buy just a little less of (and it’s even my favorite colors!).  The two mini buttons just tickled my fancy–I am a thrower, and for some unknown reason, the abbreviation k2tog amuses me.  Plus, the purple provided a little bit of variety.

big button

This is my new unofficial motto…especially considering I am currently writing on my blog, and I’ve got eleven additional tabs open (2 Ravelry, Flickr, 2 for my blog, another blog, Twitter, ToyVoyager (for my traveling teddies) and a few others).

Speaking of Ravelry, once the Mini-Mart got restocked, I had to get me some of those buttons too.

med button rav small buttons rav

Of course, now I needed some place to put them.  I had just the place.

buttons on bag

(That’s Texie, traveling teddy #2, peeking out of the top.)

I already had two buttons on my bag–my MCY group button and my The Knitting Guild Association pin.  Plus, I’ve recently started collecting keychains (Gloria at Knotty Girl started me on this, actually–she brought back a whole bunch from her trip to Hawaii for us, and since I use the car remote keychain, I thought my knitting bag was the best place for a keychain from a knitting friend).  My plan is to pick up a keychain everywhere I buy yarn, which means I need ones from Seattle, Issaquah, and Corpus Christi (that last one should be easy to get; the other two may take a while).  That helps make my knitting bag a perfect combination of telling who I am without asking, and inviting conversation.


Responses

  1. What a find on that 3%, 97% one!

    It is SO TRUE (as I am typing a comment on your blog, scrolling my bloglines, checking ravelry chatter and somehow through it all competing in the ravelympics . . . by thinking about knitting I guess, lol!)


Categories

