Posted by: jinniver | May 30, 2008

Organization is evil

I enjoyed some guilt-free organization of my stash for less than two days. Then the WIP monster bit me again. Patience may be a virtue, but it’s not one of mine.

I’ve already got three knitting WIPs. There’s my contribution to the Nothing But a T-Shirt KAL, my Sunny Summer Sky T-shirt:

And there’s my Zombielle sock for the MCY KAL on Ravelry:

And there’s Lexie’s curtains, which haven’t seen a stitch in a while:

And of course, that doesn’t count the Hawaiian shirts I’ve promised my husband–and, because I obviously don’t have enough on my plate, the additional two I’m giving him for our anniversary–nor the quilt blocks I’m making for a block swap (which I’m keeping under wraps for now in case any of my swapmates wander thisaway).

So you’d think I’d have no need for yet another project…but if I thought this reasonably, I wouldn’t have given this blog the name I did.

The problem is that while all of that yarn was in disorganized piles of bags and boxes, almost all of it was out of sight, out of mind. I had a few projects I knew would be next–Jeffrey’s cardigan, a bolero for me–but the rest was just unseen potential that I could ignore. Well, no more.

It’s not just the fault of my new organization where I can easily see everything I have–it’s those durned knitting forums. People keep asking questions about what they can do with certain yarns (like a huge list of non-sock patterns for sock yarn that’s now in my queue) or posting pictures of the neat pooling they’ve gotten with their yarn (which has me itching to cast on some variegated yarn to knit something–anything–to try to get the same effects). Of course, the easy solution is to a) stop looking at my yarn several times a day and b) stop reading knitting forums several times a day.

Oh, and c) stop visiting my LYS regularly–I just bought a kit for a stunning multi-yarn shawl tonight.

In other words, I’m sure I’ll be posting about my newest WIP any day now.


Responses

  1. That’s going to be so cheerful, Jen, I love it.

  2. I love the colors for your T-Shirt. It’s going to be so cheerfull….oh, wai. genuinelye already said that!

  3. […] has the cutest, sunniest little t-shirt ever, making me slightly regretful that I am knitting my t-shirt in just one […]

  4. […] still without a quilt of her own??that same pile of fabric waiting to be made into crib bedding is ihttps://sarahwinchesteroffiberarts.wordpress.com/2008/05/30/organization-is-evil/ […]

  5. […] without a quilt of her own??that same pile of fabric waiting to be made into crib bedding is ihttps://sarahwinchesteroffiberarts.wordpress.com/2008/05/30/organization-is-evil/[…]


Categories

