Posted by: jinniver | May 30, 2008

As if today didn’t suck enough…

And by today, I mean Thursday…because even though it’s now Friday morning (1:16 am CST in the U.S., to be exact), it’s still all “today” to me because I haven’t been to bed yet and there’s no end in sight.

Anyway, this morning I had to take Jeffrey to the dentist. He had cavities that needed to be filled (his back teeth, it turns out, were underdeveloped and so prone to cavities) and the dentist also needed to look at the two top front teeth he’d nearly knocked out a few months ago. The teeth were no longer loose, but it looked like an abscess might be forming over them. Sadly, it only took one look for the dentist to know both teeth had to go–there were clear signs of a bone infection that might have already damaged his permanent teeth. So my three-year-old already has that gap toothed grin. He’s taking it light years better than I am, but that’s because I’m the one who didn’t collapse the stroller he climbed into and then fell out of.

So, if that trauma wasn’t enough, I’m now waiting for my baby girl to fall back asleep after she woke up about 2 1/2 hours ago (just as I was about to go to bed, of course) with a fever of over 102. The Tylenol appears to have worked, and since she also appeared to be hungry–and I’ll take every opportunity to get fluids into a feverish child–I gave her a bottle that she sucked over 7 oz out of. So far, neither seems to have satisfied her yet.

Ok…whine over. And Lexie’s been quiet for several minutes now. Shhhhhhh…


Categories

