Posted by: jinniver | May 21, 2008

A Fair Summer Isle


Taking up knitting while living in south Texas might not have been the smartest thing I’ve ever done…but I was determined to knit some nice warm weather items for my children.  When I couldn’t find a summer dress I loved for my baby girl, I decided to design one.

This is definitely a beginner’s level project–it has to be, because I’m a beginner!  I’ve been knitting less than a year, and before this project I had never a) knit in the round, b) knit a fair isle pattern, c) done a 3-needle bind off, or d) touched a crochet hook.  Each technique is extremely simple, and I learned them from various books and web tutorials.

The designing process was actually pretty easy.  The first step was to draw a schematic–in this case, of a simple tank dress.  I measured both Lexie and one of her dresses to determine the size and shape of the dress.  The second step was to knit up a gauge square of the yarn I wanted to use.  Once I knew my row and stitch gauge, I could insert that into the schematic:  I knew how many stitches I needed at each point to get the necessary size, and I knew how many rows I had to get from one point to the other.  That was step three.

So if you’re looking for a simple but colorful summer dress for a baby girl, feel free to give this one a try!

Lexie’s A Fair Summer Isle dress free pattern:  A Fair Summer Isle

Queue A Fair Summer Isle on Ravelry!


Responses

  1. What a wonderful dress for your little girl! I wouldn’t classify you as a beginner, now! Thanks for making the pattern available.

    ps: she is cute!

  2. Hon, beginner isn’t a length of time. It is skill and I would definately say you are NOT a beginner!
    Barb in Irving, TX

  3. I’ve said it before but I have to say it again: this wee dress is almost as adorable as baby girl!! You make fair isle sound easy – how I hate you!😉

  4. I fell in love with your daughter in that dress! She looks adorable, then I read that you designed it and you’re a beginner? I am impressed! Great work! Your little one will be nice and cool this summer.


Categories

