Posted by: jinniver | May 20, 2008

My tax dollars at waste

I got a mini-cardio workout today:  as I paged through my mail, I found a letter from the IRS.

Despite the fact that I file my taxes on time and make every effort to make sure they’re both accurate and audit trigger free–and I don’t put anything on my taxes that I don’t have documentation for–my heart still started to race.  Really, whose doesn’t?

But as I started pulling the letter from the envelope, it didn’t look like an audit notification.  Now I was curious.  I unfolded it to find…a stimulus rebate letter.

Now, you might be thinking it was nice of the IRS to send me notification of my rebate eligibility, and I agree it would have been…had they sent the letter before I got the rebate.  It was direct deposited into my account a few weeks ago.  Glad the government is spending the money on those mailings!


Responses

  1. I came across your blog on Technorati. Nice site layout. I will stop by and read more soon.

    Mike Harmon

  2. Hi! I came by way of Ravelry! A friend just said to me today … “The ten most feared words in the english language … “We’re from the goverment and we’re here to help you.” *LOL*

    I am wanting to make some Preemie socks from leftover sock yarns I have. I’m love the little tube socks … I’m still trying to figure a gauge! I was thinking (from what I’ve read?) that 30 stitches on size 2’s would work? What do you think?


Categories

