Posted by: jinniver | May 16, 2008

Dress, hems, and zombies–oh, my!

I wish my Ravelry order had been here yesterday. Getting to drink my beer from a pint glass that reads “frogged” would have made frogging a little over 13 rounds of Zombie sock ribbing a lot less painful.

It took 2 more tries to get the sock started again properly–the first time, I twisted the stitches when I joined the 2 circular needles–but I’ve got 5 rounds completed.  Another 13 to go, and then I can start the pattern stitch.  Several of the other knitters in this KAL have gotten to at least that part, and the patterning is so cool that I can’t wait to get there myself.  The yarn I chose has been working out perfectly.  It’s quite beautiful knit up, but it’s also got just enough spooky touches with the green, blue, and flashes of grey to make a good Zombie sock.

In the meantime, I’ve completed my first knitted hem on my Sunny Summer Sky t-shirt.  I really love the look of this hem–just a nice clean line of stockinette without any rolling.  There are several methods of making a knitted hem…but I don’t appear to have selected any of the known methods.  Rather than going back through any of the documentation I have that discusses this type of hem, I tried to do it from memory, and ended up forgetting a key step.  I wanted to use the knit 2 together method, but forgot that it required a provisional cast on.

The row of purl bumps made for a very nice edge once I folded the hem over (and the knit stitches in the back allowed me to fold the hem very neatly).  Then, since I didn’t have stitches on the bottom, I caught the edge of the cast on stitches and knit that together with the next stitch on my needle.  Eventually, I thought to actually just slide a needle through that cast on edge (although I had to go down 3 needle sizes for it to fit; I cast on pretty snuggly).  I ended up not picking up all 135 stitches (I was off by 2); I somehow failed to k2tog once so I ended up with more picked up stitches than stitches on my original needle; and I had to knit through the back loop of the picked up stitches…but in the end I have a nice flat hem, and if the wrong side doesn’t look perfect…well, there’s a reason it’s the “wrong” side.

Finally, Lexie’s A Fair Summer Isle dress is nearly complete.  I’m quite pleased with how the fair isle pattern turned out.  I was reading the pattern rating guide in a knitting magazine this morning and noticed that the use of fair isle can qualify a project for their highest rating of “experienced.”  Let me assure anyone who really wants to give fair isle a try but feels they aren’t “experienced” enough yet–you can do it.  Not only is my experience limited, I designed this pattern myself.  And I think, despite some minor errors here and there, that this came out just fine.

I have now finished writing the pattern for the front; the pattern for the back will be similar but requires a split in the middle to add a button (because it would really suck to do all this work and not be able to fix it over Lexie’s head!) and a higher, flatter neckline.  It’s just hard to get myself to sit down and write a pattern when I have all these great yarns to knit with.  Still, I plan to do that tonight so I have it to take with me to my LYS tomorrow to finish.  To finish it off, I’m considering a single crochet edging around the neck and armholes in the yellow…but I have to knit them first!

Edited:  Remember all that talk about having finished writing the pattern for the front of Lexie’s dress?  Uh, yeah…no.  I forgot to account for the fact that the stitches are being split into front and back for the arm hole shaping, and did my math as though all the stitches were on one needle.  The good news is that most of the planning is still applicable, just the numbers are off.


Responses

  1. […] get knit together, and has appropriately picked a very cute, summery yellow color for her t-shirt! Check out her post here and you may also want to check out her next post about her husband’s rather colorful taste […]


Categories

