Posted by: jinniver | April 20, 2008

Making my week better…

As I mentioned in my last post, this past week was not a good one.  On Monday, Steve had a lousy day on the ship and didn’t get home until well after the kids were in bed.  On Tuesday, he extended the ship’s working hours until 8 pm to prepare for an inspection coming up in 2 weeks…meaning he hasn’t been home for the kids’ bedtime since.  That same day, we learned from the dentist that despite all the efforts we’ve been putting in, Jeffrey a) has 2 cavities, and there’s nothing we could have done about it and b) he’s probably going to lose the 2 front teeth that he nearly knocked out a few months ago.  We thought the teeth could be saved, but he’s developed an abcess.  Here’s the best part–he’s going to have to be sedated for the fillings (and the x-rays and possible extraction), and guess how much of that part of the bill insurance will cover?  (If you guessed a number higher than zero, you’re wrong.)

We didn’t get any more bad news for the rest of the week, but the days were still rough.  Jeffrey normally goes to “school” 4 days a week, but I had to keep him out on Tuesday for his dental appointment and he stayed home as usual on Wednesday for our mom and child music class (as well as a doctor’s appointment).  He missed getting to play with his friends, and I was not an acceptable substitute much of the time…especially when I was preoccupied with his baby sister.  Both children were unusually fussy all week, which isn’t surprising since having only one parent meant their schedules were thrown off–and Jeffrey has definitely missed his Daddy.  I was more than ready for the weekend.  Problem is, I’m not getting one until May.  Yeesh…

But hey–that’s life, and I knew it was coming when I signed on.  In that overused figure of speech, this too shall pass.  And there’s been a few things that came along this week to make me smile.  First, when I found out I wasn’t going to be able to make the Sit’n’Knit at my local yarn store on Thursday night like I planned, I decided to console myself with a shopping trip to said LYS.  Lexie tagged along, of course, and she was fascinated by all the beautiful colors–my extremely social baby girl couldn’t tear her eyes away from the shelves to interact with the ladies who wanted to see her smile.  I can’t wait until she’s old enough that I can let her discover the joy of petting the soft yarns.  In the meantime, I bought enough yarn to knit her several summer dresses that she’ll be able to stroke to her heart’s content (and some sock yarn for me–for my first pair!).

Of course, yarn doesn’t do you any good if you don’t have the needles you need to knit it with, right?  Someone on the Knitter’s Review forum recommended if you really needed to plus up your stash of needles, and weren’t hung up on the latest name-brands, the place to go was eBay.  So, I decided to take a look, and found someone selling my favorite bamboo needles for dirt cheap prices.  I was able to get a set of 14 circular needles (sizes 1-15) for as much as it would have cost me for one of the larger needles (and that includes shipping and handling) in the local chain store.  So I bought sets of circular needles in 17″, 24″, 29″, and 36″, and then added a set of (12) 9″ double pointed needles (sizes 1-11).  They showed up, to my delighted surprise, on Saturday morning:

I was quite pleasantly surprised with the quality–certainly for the price I paid, I wasn’t anticipating the absolute top-of-the-line–and when I discovered a small flaw in one of the double pointed needles (I couldn’t see it or feel it with my finger; it wasn’t until some yarn snagged that I knew it was there) the seller assured me a replacement would be in the mail Monday.  So, really good needles and great customer service–that’ll make anybody’s day.  Now I just have to figure out which of the million things I want to knit I’m going to tackle first.

Of course, even on our worst days this week, there have been 2 things that always make my week better:


Responses

  1. You’re making me seriously hungry for some spring and summer colors. My current colors in yarn are still very autumn, and I’m craving some clear blue or bright red or something. Babies look happy!


Categories

