Posted by: jinniver | April 13, 2008

The dress: part 1

Sometimes, my timing really sucks.

Like getting into knitting while living in south Texas, the land of no winter.  Well, we have a winter.  It lasts for about 3 weeks.  And our “winter” involves temps in the 50s, maybe the 40s.  It’s not exactly sweater weather.

Of course, there’s more to knit than sweaters, although I did knit a few for my kids to wear during those occasional cooler days.  They were almost never worn, especially when I discovered that the nicer sweater (after the practice piece) I knit my son didn’t fit over his head.  But I had fun and learned things (like how not to pick up and knit), so I didn’t begrudge the time or yarn spent.  Still, I wasn’t ready to put away my sticks just because it’s 90 degrees out.

Unfortuntely, baby and child pattern books (at least the ones I’ve found) tend to be largely devoid of warm weather patterns.  Wooly hats?  Check.  Bulky booties?  Check.  Gorgeous Fair Isle and cabled sweaters?  Check and check.  Tank tops or summer dresses?  Negatory, ghost rider.  That pattern appears not to exist.  Of course, now that I have access to Ravelry, I’ll probably be able to find some.

Before I go looking, I thought I’d skip right past to designing my own.  That’s probably akin to jumping in head first before testing the depth of the water, but you gotta live somehow.  It’s been a pretty exciting process so far.  I’ve got no idea how well this is going to work, but so far so good.  Once I know it’s not going to be a complete disaster, I’ll let you know what I’ve done.  But here’s an updated and newer! sneak peak:


Responses

  1. cute colors for a kid! can’t wait to see what you end up with.

    I lived in Houston in the late 1970’s for a while. The oppressive humidity was what killed me. And the cockroaches!

  2. check out the archives at http://www.knitty.com. They have some summery clothes for littles, including a cute ruffled tank top I just kntted for my toddler granddaughter.

    (It looks like you are doing great with your own pattern, but sometimes it is easier with a place to start!)

    Good luck and happy knitting.

    Beverly in Central CA – also HOT


Categories

