Posted by: jinniver | April 3, 2008

Doubly dangerous

To be honest, I’m not the most…graceful…person I know.

Oh…not honest enough?

Ok, ok.  To be really honest, there are days my 5-month-old must look at me and think, “Wow.  Now that’s uncoordinated.”

I once managed to give myself 3 concussions in less than 3 months (don’t ask.  Seriously–don’t ask).  And my poor son, Jeffrey, appears to have inherited my klutz gene.  Right now, on his forehead alone, he’s sporting a scar on the left side, scrapes dead center by the hairline, and a deep scratch on the right side.  At least he’s symmetrical in his gracelessness.

With my track history, it might have been a poor idea for me to take up a hobby that involves long, pointy sticks.  Fortunately, the tips of my favorite (bamboo) needles aren’t terribly sharp–although to avoid potential anemia, I need to avoid lace knitting, which requires much sharper needles–and I’m careful to always knit while sitting down.  So far, there have been no unfortunate incidents.  So, with a potentially dangerous sense of overconfidence, I am now the proud owner of 3 sets of double pointed needles.  Twice the chances to skewer myself per needle!

needles-006_edited.jpg

My first project will be baby socks for preemies, which I’ll tell you all about later.  I’m fairly certain I’ll survive unscathed…but if you should happen to see a woman knitting who’s covered in band-aids, just give me plenty of elbow space.


Responses

  1. I love bamboo. They’re so light and easy to use. Honestly, I have one pair of metal dpns, and it’s a mercy that I only have one, because I’ve nearly stabbed myself several times just with that pair!


Categories

